top of page

Wicked, Apollo Victoria | Review and Cast Thoughts


Seeing a new Glinda, Fiyero and Nessarose!

I've seen Wicked three times now and it keeps getting better each time I see it. This time I went, I saw 3 new performers on for Glinda, Fiyero and Nessarose and they were all brilliant.

For my third time seeing the show, Sophie Evans was on for Glinda, I didn't see her last time because Samantha Thomas was on as Glinda. Personally, Sophie is not my favourite Glinda, but her voice and her portrayal is amazing. In some parts, I definetly think she overacts but that is great in parts like 'Popular'. What I did love about Sophie is the way she sang 'I'm Not That Girl'. Sophie managed to bring a touching side to that song which she showed to the audience and that I have never seen before. She was also lovely at the stage door afterwards!

Next up I had Tom Hargreaves on for Fiyero, who I didn't know was on until he came onstage as I didn't get a chance to see the castboard and when he came on I was like 'That's definetly not Bradley Jaden'. I didn't think he was as good as previous Fiyero's I've seen but that could be because he was an understudy and doesn't get to go on everyday. I liked the way he sang 'Dancing Through Life' especially the opening section of the song and 'As Long As You're Mine' was sentimental and I often think that the song is overlooked but it is definetly one of my favourites.

I also had Aimée Fisher on as Nessarose who sang the best 'Wicked Witch of the East'. It was very nice to see a different portrayal of Nessa. Special mentions go to Melanie La Barrie who was the most entertaining Madame Morrible and Alice Fearn who sang the most tremendous riffs in 'The Wizard and I', 'Defying Gravity' and 'No Good Deed'. All the cast were really nice at stagedoor too. I look forward to visiting again!

Wicked is running at the Apollo Victoria Theatre in London, as well as touring the UK until 2019

Contact:

E-mail - freddieelee@gmail.com

Instagram - freddieelee

Leave a comment and subscribe!

You Might Also Like:

Freddie Lee Theatre

bottom of page