top of page

The Kite Runner, Newcastle Theatre Royal (UK Tour) | Review


I have heard of The Kite Runner for a while now, mainly because of many people saying how it made them so emotional during the show and honestly I felt that too. I don't quite think I've been quite as moved as this especially as it left me with an impression leaving the theatre of - woah.

The Kite Runner tells the life story of Amir who grows up in Kabul, Afghanistan with his best friend Hassan before the rise of the Taliban in the country, Amir's family tensions, and his emigration to Pakistan and America as a refugee before his return to the country years later. It offers a completely different perspective on society from a viewpoint that we don't often get the chance to appreciate and I find this very interesting especially in a theatre production.

Amir was played by Raj Ghatak and I found his portrayal was interesting. He was your standard everyday character but also had a sense of seriousness especially in act two. He did a great job at telling the tragic story and brought the majority of the audience to tears by the end.

Some special mentions have to go to Jo Ben Ayed who played Hassan and Sorab. Both characters he played were very emotional and he managed to alternate between the two well.

Overall, I liked The Kite Runner, a touching and tragic story of friendship but for me, something didn't quite click. I would highly recommend this show to people over the age of 14 but be prepared for an emotional time at the theatre.

You Might Also Like:

Freddie Lee Theatre

bottom of page