top of page

Matilda, Sunderland Empire (UK Tour) | Review


Matilda The Musical (UK Tour)

Sunderland Empire

Reviewed on the 25th May 2018 by Freddie Lee

I have seen Matilda three times now and each show does not disappoint even though the show is primarily aimed at children. The uplifting music and inspiring storyline just proves that 'sometimes you have to be a little naughty'.

The show tells the heartfelt story of a young girl called Matilda. In the first half, we meet her unloving parents, Mr and Mrs Wormwood, and her new lovely teacher Miss Honey who she encounters on her first day of school at 'Crunchem Hall'. Warned by older pupils at the school, we soon meet Miss Trunchbull, who is an ex-olympian hammer throwing champion, and her variety of punishments including the dreaded 'Chokey'. Matilda is determined to stand up to her, claiming that 'that's not right'. The second half shows Matilda putting things right with the help of her special powers and with her and Miss Honey, they together are able to get rid of Miss Trunchbull forever. Intertwined with the story of Matilda is the story of the Escapologist and the Acrobat, which she tells to the librarian Mrs. Phelps and then has a bigger part in the show later on.

For this performance, I had Poppy Jones as Matilda and personally, I thought she was brilliant. Her clear vocals and amazing acting put her highly up on my list of actors I really like. Her rendition of Quiet, was extremely touching and bittersweet and left most of the audience dazzled by her sheer talent. Also, Naughty, was probably the most playful and exciting I have ever heard and was very funny. I adored her as Matilda and I cannot wait to see her in either the same or different roles in the future.

Craige Els, who played Miss Trunchbull on the tour as well as in London, was absolutely hilarious and has got to be the standout performance for me. The Hammer, left the audience in laughter and the way he was performing the role was entertaining for everyone, no matter young or old. For me, he has got the comical and threatening side completely nailed like in The Smell of Rebellion which is Miss Trunchbull's big number in the show. I cannot express how much I loved his portrayal of the character and I cannot wait to revisit the show just to see him again.

Miss Honey was played by Carly Thoms. I personally felt that her portrayal was a bit lackluster and a bit too weak even though that is who Miss Honey is meant to be. However, saying that her change in character from the beginning to end was brilliant and definitely helped tell the story. Again, she was a good singer in Pathetic and My House but nothing really shone or stood out and I think as the tour progresses it will help her gain more confidence and it might change how she is playing the character so I look forward to see how she plays the character later on in the year.

As Matilda's parents, Mr and Mrs Wormwood, I had Rebecca Thornhill and Sebastien Torkia, who I thought shone in their respective roles. Rebecca Thornhill was crazy and eccentric as she needed to be and Sebastien was brilliant at performing the money (and telly!) obsessed man and they were both amazing performances in my eyes. Rebecca, paired with Matt Gillett as Rudolpho made an excellent pair especially in their standout number Loud which was dazzling and energetic and packed to the brim full of energy.

Special mentions have to go to all the children in the cast as well as Michelle Chantelle Hopewell as Mrs Phelps who was very funny in the library scenes. I have loved having the UK tour at my local theatre and look forward to seeing it in various locations around the country soon. Set design by Rob Howell is absolutely gorgeous and captures the audiences attention right away and the music by Tim Minchin is simply beautiful and uplifting.

This show has an all star cast and is jam packed with fun, laughter and inspiring stories and will effect everyone who sees it. No matter who you are, you will love this show, showing that it is a hilarious and exciting night out at the theatre for everyone and anyone.

Sometimes you have to be a little bit naughty!

Matilda is currently playing at the Cambridge Theatre in the West End as well as visiting various venues on its UK tour until April 2019.

More information about the show can be found here.

Follow me elsewhere:

Twitter - @fltheatreblog

Instagram - @freddiee.lee

E-mail for press enquiries - freddieelee@gmail.com

**DISCLAIMER - THESE ARE NOT MY OWN PICTURES AND I DO NOT CLAIM THEM TO BE MINE. ALL CREDITS GO TO THE PHOTOGRAPHER AND THE PRODUCTION TEAM.**

You Might Also Like:

Freddie Lee Theatre

bottom of page